PDP Chair Ayu Steps Aside

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the party has replaced the former National Chairman with Umar Damagum, one of his deputies.


This decision was made after an interim injunction from a Makurdi High Court in Benue State restrained Ayu from serving as the national chairman. The NWC conveyed this decision to reporters at an emergency meeting, and it was made in compliance with the court order.


Ayu’s suspension by the executive committee of his native Igyorov Ward in the Gboko Local Government Area of Benue came a day before the court’s order. He had dismissed this suspension, claiming that only the National Executive Committee (NEC) could remove him.


Charles Aniagwu, the spokesperson for the PDP Presidential Campaign Council (PCC), backed Ayu, saying that his suspension by the ward was illegal.


Despite this, the NWC decided to replace Ayu with Damagum in an acting capacity pending the determination of the suit by a party member, Conrad Utaan.


The decision was made in deference to the court order and in line with Section 45 (2) of the Constitution of the PDP. Damagum is from Yobe State and is the Deputy National Chairman (North), while Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja from Oyo State is the Deputy National Chairman (South).


At a briefing by the NWC, the PDP National Publicity Secretary, Debo Ologunagba, charged all party members and supporters to remain calm and united at this critical time.


The new Acting National Chairman, Damagum, said he would be serving in this capacity pending the determination of the court case. He also mentioned that the NWC would meet to review the crisis and discuss the gale of suspensions of some party bigwigs.

See also  A Young Nigerian Lady Jessica Posh Posts Her Photo Videos of Before And After After Accident Damages Her Face


Other members of the NWC at the briefing were the National Secretary, Samuel Anyanwu; National Youth Leader, Mohammed Suleiman; National Organizing Secretary, Umar Bature; National Legal Adviser Kamarudeen Ajibade; National Treasurer, Ahmed Mohammed; and National Financial Secretary, Daniel Woyegikuro.